Congratulations on your decision to get married on beautiful Galveston Island! We are sure that you will fall in love with our city no matter what time of year you choose.
To obtain a marriage license, you need to go to the Court of the County of Galveston, located at 600 59th Street, Suite 2001, here in Galveston. The office is open Monday through Friday 8am-5pm. You may reach the office by phone at (409)766-2200.
A blood test is not required to obtain a marriage license.
If you are over 18 years of age, there is no parental consent required. Acceptable form of identification includes an original or certified copy of your Birth Certificate, a valid Driver License, Military ID, ID issued by the Department of Public Safety of the State of Texas, a valid Passport, etc.
If you are age 16 to 17, you must have consent of a parent, managing conservator or legal guardian or judicial approval. The County Clerk can provide a parental consent form.
Both parties must appear together to apply for a marriage license. However, a portion of the application process may be completed by filing an Absentee Affidavit if one party is unable to appear in person. License must be obtained 72 hours prior to wedding. Only a District or County Court at Law Judge can waive this requirement. An applicant who is on active military duty is exempt from the 72 hour waiting period. License is valid up to 30 days after date of issuance. License is valid in any county in Texas. License fee is $71, and must be paid in cash. (The license fee will be waived if a couple takes an 8-hour premarital preparation course that covers important marital skills and issues such as conflict management and communication.)
Marriages in Texas may be performed by:
- a licensed or ordained Christian minister or priest
- a Jewish rabbi
- a person who is an officer of a religious organization and who is authorized by the organization to conduct a marriage ceremony
- a Justice of the Peace, County Judge, District Judge, or retired Judge
If either person is divorced, he/she will need to provide the date of the divorce. (If the divorce occurred within the previous 30 days, the person must provide a certified copy of the divorce decree).
Couples living together may wish to make a matter of record their marriage without formality. Call (409)766-2200 for information concerning a Declaration of Informal Marriage.
Witnesses are not required.
From the Blogs
Carnival Cruise Line To Add A Fourth Ship In Galveston
Published: Tuesday, October 15, 2019
With Addition of Carnival Radiance and Carnival Breeze, Line Will Carry 900,000 Guests a Year from Galveston, More Than Any Other Cruise Line. Read more.
Set Sail: FAQs Around Cruising From Galveston
Published: Wednesday, September 18, 2019
If you have never taken a Caribbean cruise from the Port of Galveston, it may be time for a grand Gulf adventure. Here are a few logistical tips to get you out on the water with peace of mind. Read more.
Perfect Day at CocoCay - Now Sailing from Galveston!
Published: Sunday, July 7, 2019
Sail to Royal Caribbean's private island from Galveston beginning Summer 2020! Read more.
Canceled Cruise? We've Got You Covered!
Published: Friday, June 21, 2019
Don’t let this cancellation rain on your vacation parade, plan your trip to Galveston Island today! Read more.
Published: Wednesday, December 12, 2018
I have no idea why passengers think that if they’re the first in line they’ll be the first off the ship. THERE IS A SYSTEM TO DEBARKATION!!!! Read more.